Bible study 153 – Deuteronomy 1

In the notes so far in my Oxford Bible, Deuteronomy is quoted a lot. Apparently, much of it is a summary of the earlier books. In that sense, I am about to write a summary of a summary of a text that I just summarized. Dear God.

On the other hand, I am told that much of it is reinterpretation, as opposed to a pure retelling, so at least I will get to interpret the reinterpretation of a text I just interpreted. I… think that is better.

Moses starts a very long speech to the Israelites in Moab. He retells how he delegated his dictatorial powers to a team of elders; and then the much later story about how the Israelites rebelled and were condemned by God to walk in the wilderness for 40 years. Moses’ retelling has some omissions (like failing to mention that Jethro suggested the political reform) and some jumbling of the order of events (saying it happened after they left Sinai, rather than before), but overall it is a decent summary of the two completely unrelated events.

Deuteronomy 1:37
Even with me the Lord was angry on your account, saying, “You also shall not enter there. (…)”

Full text.

Leave a Reply

