Bible study 205 – Joshua 19

The remaining six tribes get their lands: Simeon, Zebulun, Issachar, Asher, Naphtali, and Dan. Below is one map of the twelve tribes by me, and one from the Oxford Bible. As I noted in chapter 13, the two maps are different; mine is based on my own interpretation of the text, while Oxfords’ is probably more technically accurate.

Joshua 19:40
The seventh lot came out from the tribe of Dan, according to its families.

Full text.


There are almost no fixed geographical locations to determine most of these borders, and they are therefore largely determined relative to each other. Ekron is explicitly stated to be a part of Dan, contradicting chapter 15 where it was given to Judah. I have therefore made Dan overlapping parts of Judah.

Oxford Bible map

From the Oxford Bible.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s